Lost: One Pair of Rose-Colored Glasses

Yes. My vision was impaired. I didn’t see it coming. And like a slap in the face; my feelings were hurt and  disappointment was my new best friend.

That’s what happens when you wear rose-colored glasses.

What did I do wrong? Nothing and everything.

Let’s get realistic. Life without disappointment is simply unheard of.  As humans, we have certain expectations and when things just don’t work the way we expect; disappointment sets in.  And that’s where I’m at!  Disappointed!

I tend to be somewhat of an optimist. Yes, I sometimes wear the rose-colored glasses and often focus on the positive rather than the negative. I try to see the good in all people. Is that so wrong? Yes and No.

It’s not wrong to want better. It’s not wrong to expect better;  as long as you realize that not everyone thinks like you. Another persons level of expectation may not be set that high which usually leads to some form of disappointment.

Great expectations can cause even greater disappointments.

Just when you think you know someone, that’s when the unexpected happens. That’s when disappointment happens in a way you could never imagine.

Is it wrong for me to try to see the best in every person and in every situation? No.  But I think I have a higher expectation of others because I am willing to go to that higher level for them. And that’s where I go wrong.  The effort I put forth for others may not come back the same and then I realize, I’m not as important as I thought I was.

OUCH! THAT HURTS! 😦

So, what’s a person to do when they lose that rosy image of all they thought was good?  Find the beauty in the disappointment. And here’s how:

  • Use the weight of the disappointment as a stepping stone rather than a burden. Find one lesson learned, smile and move on.
  • Take the rose-colored glass off periodically to get a different perspective. It’s ok to wear them; just don’t rely on them to always have an accurate view.
  • Listen to that inner voice. It usually sees with a 20/20 vision.
  • Accept it for what it is. No more or no less.
  • Finding beauty in disappointment will bring clarity to life itself.  As long as the pain remains temporary, the beauty lasts a lifetime.
  • Lean on the One who will never disappoint. God knows your hurts. He’s the ultimate Pick-Me-Up!  (Romans 5:5 NKJV)

Life’s disappointments have a way of teaching us to be flexible in our thinking. We can either focus on the problem or focus on the possibilities despite the problem. Life’s disappointments make us feel when we sometimes otherwise won’t or don’t. Emotions are explored and we live and learn. Life’s disappointments teach us acceptance. To accept the changes and move forward as a stronger person than before.

Some people come into our lives for just a season. They teach us, make us and mold us to be better. They can bring out the best in us through the disappointments.  They remind us of our purpose. Our purpose is to always bring glory to God…even through our disappointments.

Until next time,

Live, Love & Learn

~Copyright 2016~All Rights Reserved

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Lost: One Pair of Rose-Colored Glasses

  1. Mr. Mel says:

    Expectation are requirement we place on ourselves and others. When there are requirement placed on a relationship It is going to fail. Start with yourself, drop all exception replace them with acceptance and see what happens. With out expectation you will never be disappointed again. No glasses required.

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    Thanks Ann! Yes, with that I have to agree. I started the other bog because I have seen and heard so many women, and men, too…who need reminded of how beautiful and amazing they are. I guess we all need it at times, so I try to post periodically to get the message out there that inside beauty is of utmost importance. :0)

    Like

  3. Ann GrubbsnCritters says:

    I guess that’s the way life is…when you have expectations, you’d have to also expect and buffer for disappointment. I suppose, it’s how you deal with the aftermath of disappointment that matters most at least to keep you going.
    And I just realised you have 2 blogs!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura says:

      Thanks Oneta! So sorry I just saw this comment. For some reason, I had to approve it. Not sure what’s up with that. I’ve never had to approve a comment before it, but so glad I saw it. Thanks for your reading and commenting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Laura says:

    Thanks Peggy! Sometimes I feel I’m neglecting this little blog but it helps me when I doubt my own beauty or self-worth. I have thought about focusing on this one more, but it would limit my readers to mainly women, so I write more often on ‘The View From My Window.’ 🙂

    Like

  5. Judy says:

    Your timing was amazing. I’ve been dealing with disappointment. It helps to know it’s such a universal, human condition. I just wasn’t prepared for my struggles with my eyesight and it is so frustrating. What you wrote was very comforting – thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura says:

      So glad you could relate and comforted by my words. I tend to give to others my all… Over and above the 100% and then I tend to also be taken advantage of. If I could only learn to not care but that would be just impossible for me. So, I get hurt, shed my tears, write about it, pray, pick myself up and try to move on. Easier said than done.❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  6. theutopiauniverse says:

    Hi Laura, lovely blog you have going here, I just wanted to say that in my experience I have learnt the hard way, that some people are not even aware of the hurt or dissapointment they share around, we cant change them, but I dont think we should change because of their actions, we are who we are, and if our flaw is always wanting to see the best in others, so be it, we can handle that………………can’t we, Just accept, you don’t have to agree (You probaly know I go with this universal law time and time again)

    Brooke

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura says:

      So true. Sorry it took so long to see this. Not sure why but my comments were not showing up on the blog but they were in my email. I had to go into the admin and fix it. But I do agree and appreciate your encouraging advice. Life is too short to stress over it so I try to keep I’m smiling through the disappointment. 🙂

      Like

What's Your Thoghts?

